We are postponing this conference until June 2021.

No firm dates have been set. If you have any questions or would like to receive updates about the conference timeline, please email us at Thank you for your interest. We hope to see you next year!

June 25–27, 2020

Fusing Equity and Whole-School STEM Models

Session Leaders and Speakers

Dr. Melanie LaForce
Author of one of the keystone studies of ISSs where she worked with inclusive STEM high school leaders and stakeholders to articulate and understand their intended school models (LaForce, Noble, King, Century, Blackwell, Holt, Ibrahim, et al., 2016). Dr. LaForce is the Associate Director of Research and Evaluation in the Outlier program at the University of Chicago. Outlier is an outward-facing brand that represents a body of UChicago STEM Education’s research and evaluation work.

Dr. Decoteau Irby
An expert in the field of culturally relevant, whole-school reform. Dr. Decoteau is an assistant professor at University of Illinois at Chicago in the Department of Educational Policy Studies where he teaches and advises in the Urban Education Leadership Ed.D. program. His scholarship explores the intersection of race and school leadership; cultural politics of urban education; the educational lives of Black males; and improving school discipline, climate, and culture.

Dr. Rachel Roegman
An assistant professor in the Department of Education Policy, Organization and Leadership at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Her research interests examine the interconnections of equity, contexts, and leadership, and her work focuses on the development and support of equity-focused leaders.

Dr. Aaron Price
Director of Research and Evaluation at MSI. He oversees a team of six who study the impact of the Museum on guests and the community. He was an advisor during the development of the Museum’s whole school STEM reform program and has published/presented on formative evaluation results for the program and experimental research studies of the impact of the Museum’s teacher PD programs.

Organizing Committee
C. Aaron Price (PI, original Co-PI), Gauri Vaishampayan (original PI), Robert Tai, John Settlage (Co-PI), Melanie LaForce (Co-PI), Fatima Brunson, Gloria Segovia (project manager and meeting coordinator).

For more information, please email us at